Ryo Murakami Spectrum EP
Genre: Leftfield

Ryo Murakami - Spectrum EP


Release Date: 04/12/2014

Cat No: MEA015

Format: Vinyl


  • contagion
  • statical
  • statical (porter ricks chagne of tide remix)

Find more records like Spectrum EP on Sound Shelter

Start Digging

More about Spectrum EP

Tokyo-based Ryo Murakami has been releasing slightly minimal-inflected house music since 2007. His club-oriented work has always been subtly atmospheric and deliberately soft-spoken and non-confrontational, conjuring up an original sound that fits to modern-day house music like a glove. He co-runs and releases on the Panrecords label and has also published his music on Dessous, Poker Flat, Baud, Curle, etc. His 2013 album "Depth Of Decay" signaled a change towards a more experimental, ambient-based sound. Meakusma is proud to present these two new tracks that combine the forward momentum of his previous work with his new-found experimental approach. Both tracks play with atmosphere and impact, are essentially slow burners that through Murakami's subtle play with dynamics and change become incredibly moving and abstracted studies into groove and ambient sound. Cherry on the cake is the Porter Ricks remix, their first 'production under the Porter Ricks moniker since their 2002 Nine Inch Nails remix. Here they catapult the Porter Ricks sound into today, without losing their trademark characteristics. A hazy glow that is as revealing as it is mystifying covers the track, whilst the basis of it is, in the best Porter Ricks tradition, a surprisingly funky twist on the rhythm and bass of the original track.

Meakusma released Spectrum EP on Thu Dec 04 2014. The 3 track Leftfield release features Ryo Murakami.

Meakusma has released vinyl by Dj Yoav B, Harmonious Thelonious, Madteo, Terrence Dixon, Anno Stamm, Georgia, Immer Chic, Vakula, Even Tuell, Move D, Benjamin Brunn, Peter Van Hoesen, Pub, Clatterbox, and Different Fountains.

People who like Spectrum EP also listen to Ribn, Anton Zap, Losoul, Brendon Moeller, Melchior Productions, Delano Smith, Langenberg, Benjamin Brunn, DPlay, and Ed Davenport.