Eric Random A Boy Alone
Genre: Leftfield

Eric Random - A Boy Alone

Release Date: 28/08/2018

Cat No: DE220

Format: Vinyl


  • eric random - subliminal
  • eric random - 23 skidoo
  • eric random - dow chemical comapany
  • eric random - skin deep
  • eric random - in serious dub
  • eric random - meets the bedlamites in cassette conference
  • eric random - slaves & pyramids (live)
  • eric random - 6:55
  • eric random - pure power (demo)
  • eric random - subliminal seduction
  • eric random - bedlam a go-go
  • eric random - liquid metal
  • eric random - mad as mankind
  • eric random - dream web of maya
  • eric random - pure power

Find more records like A Boy Alone on Sound Shelter

Start Digging

More about A Boy Alone

Dark Entries is honored to release ?A Boy Alone?, a double LP set from Manchester electronic music pioneer Eric Random. Best known for his early recordings for New Hormones and Les Disques du Cr?puscule and collaborations with Pete Shelley (Buzzcocks), Cabaret Voltaire and Nico. As an original member of The Tiller Boys with Shelley, Random injected a healthy dose of Krautrock into the dour Manchester post-punk scene in 1978/79 before going solo the following year. Random?s first 7? ?Subliminal?/?23 Skidoo? was released in 1981 via Les Disques du Cr?puscule and explored ominous sonic surrounds. That same year also saw the release of a second 7'' single on New Hormones, ?Dow Chemical Company?/ ?Skin Deep?. Both tracks offered bubbling, rhythmic sound patterns, and were the first to feature other musicians that would become know as The Bedlamites. Consisting of Lynn Walton on vocals, Ian Runacres and Andy Diagram of Dislocation Dance, and bassist Wayne Worm, aka Wayne Sedgeman. Their debut 12? single ?Subliminal Seduction?/?Bedlam-a-Go-Go? was released in 1982 through Plurex, mixing arid funk textures and sparse melodies. That same year the group contributed proto chill-out track ?6.55? to Plurex compilation ?Hours? and the highly filmic track ?In Cassette Conference? to the Touch cassette package ?Feature Mist?. In 1983, Random spent several months in the Himalayas with a group of musicians from the Kulu Valley and studied non-Western instruments such as tabla. On returning to Manchester, Random convened a new group of Belamites including Walton, Sedgeman and drummer Graham Dowdall aka Dids of Ludus. They released the 12? single ?Mad As Mankind?/?Dream Web Of Maya? in 1984 on Cabaret Voltaire?s Doublevision, embracing electronic, industrial and dub styles. In 1985 they contributed the soothing ?Pure Power? to Food Records? ?Imminent Episode One? compilation. Our reissue also includes 4 unreleased bonus tracks from Eric?s archives recorded between 1981-1984. The whole set adds up to 115 minutes of sinister, somnambulant Random music. All songs have been remastered by George Horn at Fantasy Studios. Each copy is housed in a gatefold jacket designed by Eloise Leigh featuring a spread of ephemera, photos with liner notes by James Nice of LTM

Dark Entries released A Boy Alone on Tue Aug 28 2018. The 15 track Leftfield release features Eric Random.

Dark Entries has released vinyl by Altres, Borghesia, Art Fine, Big Ben Tribe, Crash Course In Science, Cute Heels, Dark Day, Figure Study, Helen, Inhalt, Patrick Cowley, Peter Richard, Psyche, Redredred, and Severed Heads.